In Whitehall on Tuesday, government departments are being rewired and rebadged. Four new departments have been created out of three old ones. The shape of Rishi Sunak’s reshuffled government is starting to emerge. 

Greg Hands was named the new Conservative Party Chairman after Nadhim Zahawi was fired last month over tax affair. His main task will be to help the Conservatives get re-elected, a tough job according to the current mood of the British people. 

The former Culture Secretary,  Michelle Donelan, will lead the new Science, Innovation, and Technology department. 

Kemi Badenoch will lead the Business and Trade department.

Lucy Frazer will lead the Culture, Media, and Sport.

Grant Shapps is now secretary of a newly formed Energy Security and Net Zero department, something which Rishi Sunak promised to do before becoming Prime Minister.

The Chancellor, Jeremy Hunt, will remain in the Treasury. 

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *