(THE PAVLOVIC TODAY) — Following the Russia’s annexation of Luhansk, Donetsk, Kherson, and Zaporizhzhya regions in Ukraine, the Biden Administration has imposed a new round of sanctions against the Russian government officials, their family members, Russian and Belarusian military officials, and defense procurement networks.

“We will hold to account any individual, entity, or country that provides political or economic support for Russia’s illegal attempts to change the status of Ukrainian territory,” said Secretary Blinken.

The Department of State is taking action to impose visa restrictions on 910 individuals.

The Department designated today a Russian national, Ochur-Suge Mongush, “for his involvement in a gross violation of human rights perpetrated against a Ukrainian prisoner of war” according to Secretary Blinken.

“Mongush and his immediate family members are ineligible for entry into the United States,” explained Blinken.

Who else is on the sanctions list?

  • 109 additional State Duma members
  • 169 members of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation
  • Members of Russia’s government including Elvira Sakhipzadovna Nabiullina, the Governor of the Central Bank of the Russian Federation (CBR) and a former advisor to Putin
  • Olga Nikolaevna Skorobogatova, the First Deputy Governor of the CBR
  • Aleksandr Valentinovich Novak, a Deputy Prime Minister
  • Family members of Russia’s National Security Council
  • Russian Prime Minister Mikhail Vladimirovich Mishustin’s wife and two adult children
  • Minister of Defense Sergei Kuzhugetovich Shoigu’s wife and adult children
  • National Guard Head Viktor Vasilievich Zolotov’s wife and adult children
  • The immediate family members of Deputy Chairman of the Russian Federation Security Council Dmitry Anatolievich
  • Medvedev, Speaker of the Federation Council Valentina Ivanovna Matviyenko
  • Saint Petersburg Governor Aleksandr Dmitrievich Beglov

“The Department of State is joining Treasury in targeting family members of Russia’s National Security Council by designating Olga Sergeevna Sobyanina and Anna Sergeevna Ershova pursuant to Executive Order (E.O.) 14024 for being the adult children of Moscow mayor and Russian Security Council member Sergey Sobyanin, a person whose property and interests in property are blocked under E.O. 14024,” announced Secretary Blinken.

In addition, the Department of Treasury sanctioned 14 international suppliers for supporting Russia’s military supply chains. 

“Russia’s attempts to illegally annex Ukrainian territory are a grotesque violation of Ukraine’s sovereignty and a blatant effort to manufacture a false reality,” said Under Secretary of Commerce for Industry and Security, Alan Estevez. “This phony act to legitimize the invasion cannot stand.”

According to Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen, the US is taking “sweeping action” to “further weaken Russia’s already degraded military industrial complex and undermine its ability to wage its illegal war.”

The Treasury’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) designated today Radioavtomatika, Russian defense procurement firm. Vladimir Aleksandrovich Ivanov (Ivanov), Sergey Vyacheslavovich Byzov (Byzov), and Dmitrii Vladimirovich Galin (Galin) were placed on sanctions list.

Novastream Limited (Novastream), a Russian firm established in April 2022 in close coordination with Radioavtomatika officials and has supplied goods to

OFAC today also sanctioned today Sinno Electronics Co., Limited (Sinno), a People’s Republic of China supplier of Radioavtomatika, and Taco LLC (Taco), an Armenian supplier.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *